The Maine Department of Labor has issued an updated version of the Child Labor Laws posting. The revision is required for all employers with locations in Maine, and employers are required to display the posting where workers can easily see it according to Maine law (Title 26, M.R.S.A. § 42-B).
The posting outlines limits on hours worked by employees 17 years of age and younger and details work hours allowed during the school year and for when school is not in session.
What Changed on the Maine Child Labor Law Posting?
In addition to minor verbiage and formatting changes, Maine employers should pay close attention to the Recordkeeping section, which requires employers to keep payroll records for workers under 18 years of age that show each day:
- Time minor began work.
- Total hours worked.
- Time of work completion.
Maine Youth Employment Levels Decrease
While Maine employment levels increased by one percent from 2008 – 2013, youth employment levels (ages 16-19) dropped by 13 percent in that same period.
Federal Child Labor Laws
- Government agencies.
- Hospitals or other healthcare facilities.
- Educational institutions.
- Companies earning $500,000 or more in annual sales.
Although rules governing the employment of minors are different depending on job duties and industry, the FLSA sets the minimum age for employment at 14 and includes limits on the number of hours worked by minors under the age of 16.
Get the Latest Maine Workplace Posters
Order the most current Maine labor law postings which contain the revised Child Labor Law posting and others required for employers in Maine.
Keep Up-to-Date with State Labor Law Posting News from GovDocs[gravityform id=”2″ name=”Labor Law News” title=”false” description=”false”]