Massachusetts will require all employers to provide earned sick leave effective July 1, 2015, with larger employers offering paid time off for earned sick leave.[wc_divider style=”dashed” line=”single” margin_top=”” margin_bottom=””]
Massachusetts Earned Sick Leave Law
Ballot Question 4, which was passed by 60 percent of Massachusetts voters, amends the General Laws of Massachusetts to allow workers to earn one hour of sick time for every 30 hours worked. Workers with accrued sick leave can begin using their sick time only after working for 90 days.
Employees may use the earned sick time to care for family members suffering from a physical or mental illness, injury, or medical condition; care for their own physical or mental illness, injury, or medical condition; attend routine medical appointments; address the psychological, physical or legal effects of domestic violence (Read More about the Massachusetts Domestic Violence Act).
Massachusetts is the third U.S. state after California and Connecticut to guarantee earned sick leave for workers.
Which Massachusetts Employers Must Comply with Earned Sick Leave Law?
Employers with 11 or more employees need to allow each eligible worker to earn up to 40 hours of paid sick time per calendar year beginning July 1, 2015. Employers with 10 or fewer employees must allow workers to earn up to 40 hours of unpaid sick time per calendar year.
Additional Details of the Massachusetts Earned Sick Leave Law
- Employees may carry over up to 40 hours of unused earned sick time to the next calendar year, but are not entitled to use more than 40 hours in one calendar year.
- Employers will not be required to pay out unused earned sick time when workers separate from employment.
- An employer may require a “doctor’s note” or similar certification signed by a health care provider indicating the need for earned sick time taken by the employee.
- Employee should make a good-faith effort to notify the employer in advance when the use of earned sick time is foreseeable.
Massachusetts Earned Sick Leave Poster and Notice
The Massachusetts Attorney General’s office will release a posting that employers must display in a conspicuous location. Additionally, employers must provide each worker with a copy of the notice.