Posts

New Jersey SAFE Act (Mandatory Update)

New Jersey Governor Chris Christie has signed the much anticipated “New Jersey Security and Financial Empowerment Act” (NJ SAFE Act). This act provides victims of domestic violence and sexual assault 20 days of unpaid leave and goes into effect October 1, 2013.

The SAFE Act is mandatory for all private employers in New Jersey with 25 or more employees. It allows any employee who is the victim of domestic violence or sexual assault up to 20 days of unpaid leave during the 12-month period following the incident for seeking medical attention for physical or psychological injuries, participating in court proceedings, or to increase personal safety by relocating as well as several other activities. This unpaid leave may be taken in intermittent levels by at least one day.

Employers must post the SAFE Act notice by the effective date of October 1, 2013 to ensure compliance. GovDocs has already added this notice to the New Jersey State-On-One Poster and will send the update to subscribers of our convenient Update Service.

NOTE: that while the NJ SAFE Act is available, we are still awaiting the new language for the NJ Gender Discrimination Posting.

North Dakota Mandatory Update

Are you updated? North Dakota has released a mandatory update to their Wage & Labor Laws posting. The update was effective on 8/1/2013 and includes:

  • Verbiage and formatting changes throughout
  • Added “Limitations on Paid Time Off” section
  • Added “Highly compensated employees” to overtime exemptions
  • Added “service employee” definition to tip credit section
  • Added all the statute cities on the poster

This is only the second mandatory change in the past seven years for North Dakota. Did you catch it? With GovDocs’ Automatic Update Program, you don’t need to! We keep track of state, provincial, and federal posting updates and automatically send new posters to you to keep your company compliant. For more information on GovDocs’ Automatic Update Program or to subscribe, click here.


New Breastfeeding in the Workplace Law for Hawaii

Hawaii Employers: Are you still compliant with the new labor laws?

Hawaii recently passed an amendment to the Employment Practices Law pertaining to workplace accommodation for breastfeeding.

Under this legislation, employers are required to provide reasonable time for breastfeeding employees as needed for up to one year after childbirth. Employers are also mandated to provide the employee with a private location (other than a restroom) that is shielded from view and free from intrusion from coworkers and the public for breastfeeding purposes.

Employers with fewer than 20 employees are exempt if that employer can show that the law would impose a significant expense or difficulty to their business.

A mandatory Breastfeeding in the Workplace poster is included with this law to explain the changes and notify employees.

Failure to comply with posting or enforcing the law results in a minimum $500 fine for each violation.

Hawaii’s state law takes precedence over the national Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) as it offers greater protection to employees. You can read more about the FLSA here.

GovDocs offers this new Breastfeeding in the Workplace posting as part of our Hawaii All-On-One poster. To make sure you never miss out on mandatory state or federal labor law changes, join our Update Program and stay compliant!

For more information about the Hawaii Breastfeeding in the Workplace Act, Click here.

2013 Labor Law Posting Updates

Red indicates states with mandatory changes in 2013 to date (9/23/2013).
Gray
indicates states with mandatory changes in 2013 required for only certain types of employers (9/23/2013).

So far in 2013, 22 U.S. states have released mandatory labor law poster updates.

Six states released conditional postings*, which are mandatory for certain types of employers.

An additional 198 non-mandatory changes were identified by the GovDocs Research Department in 2013. What’s the Difference Between Mandatory and Non-Mandatory Changes?

That brings the grand total to 291 mandatory updates since January 1, 2006, and average of three mandatory changes every month.


[rs-space space=”30″/] [rs-box_content style=”box_in_box” txt_color=”#4f4f4f” bkg_color=”#fcfcfc” brd_color=”#c1ccdc” out_bkg_color=”#ffffff” out_brd_color=”#a0aec2″ width_btw_brd=”10″] [rs-columns] [rs-three_quarters]

*What are Conditional Postings?

Human Trafficking posters are a good example of conditional postings, which are required for certain types of employers.

Employers in the affected states are required to post Human Trafficking postings if they meet certain conditions: interstate commerce and transportation, adult entertainment, drinking establishments, for example, are considered to be at risk for human trafficking. These employers must post the Human Trafficking postings while employers in other industries are not required to post. California, Georgia, and Pennsylvania each released a Human Trafficking poster in 2013.

Other types of conditional postings include industry-specific wage guidance, like Oregon’s Minimum Wage, Agricultural posting, required only for agricultural employers.

[/rs-three_quarters] [rs-one_quarter] [rs-button label=”Contact Us” link=”mailto:dawn.thompson@govdocs.com” full_width=”yes” size=”btn-large” custom_type=”india”/]

Let a GovDocs Compliance Specialist Help You Find the Posting Compliance Program That Is Right for Your Business.

[/rs-one_quarter] [/rs-columns] [/rs-box_content]