Posts

Indiana Updates Teen Worker Hour Restrictions

New changes to the Indiana Administrative Code require employers to replace previous versions of the Teen Work Hour Restrictions notice.

The State of Indiana Department of Labor released a revised version of the Teen Work Hour Restrictions notice reflecting changes to Indiana Administrative Code (610 IAC 10). The largest changes affect the number of hours per day and per week allowed for 16- and 17-year-old employees.

Indiana Teen Worker Parental Permission Changes

With parental permission, workers aged 16 and 17 may work up to 9 hours per day and up to 40 hours per week during the school year and 48 hours per week during the non-school year. As in the previous version, high school graduates and drop-outs are aged 16 or older are exempt from work-hour limits, but the worker must provide documentation to the employer.

Indiana Teen Work Permits

Nearly all minors (14 through 17) in Indiana are still required to obtain a work permit, except when the:

  • Worker is a high school graduate
  • Worker is legally emancipated
  • Worker is a performer, actor, or model
  • Parent is the sole proprietor of the business
  • Worker is a home-schooled student. (Home-schooled students must obtain work permits from accredited high schools)

Breaks Most Common Employer Violation of Indiana Teen Work Requirements

According to the Indiana Department of Labor, the most common violation by Indiana employers with teen workers is not providing adequate breaks for teen workers. Teen workers are allowed either one 30-minute break or two 15-minute breaks for every six-hour shift.

Indiana Teen Work Hour Restrictions Posting Requirements

The revised posting is required for all employers who employ minors, and it must be displayed in a conspicuous place in the business where employee notices are customarily posted. The posting is part of the GovDocs Indiana Posting Compliance Package. Subscribers to this blog receive an additional discount of 20% when using coupon code BLOG20 at check-out.

Indiana Schedule of Posting Violation Fines

Indiana has developed a schedule of posting violations for covered locations who do not post the notice or who post an outdated version.

  • First violation = warning
  • Second violation = $50
  • Third violation = $75
  • Each instance thereafter = $100
[wc_divider style=”solid” line=”single” margin_top=”” margin_bottom=””]

Arkansas Updates Child Labor Laws

Arkansas updated its Notice to Employer & Employee posting to include revisions for minors.

Arkansas updated the child labor section of the Notice to Employer & Employee posting. State law now regulates employment of minors under 17 years old and applies time and day restrictions to children 16 years of age and younger.

Arkansas Child Labor Requirements

According to the Arkansas Department of Labor, a child must be at least 14 years old to be employed. Children who are 14 and 15 years old:

  • Require a work permit
  • May not work more than 6 days a week
  • May not work more than more than 8 hours a day or 48 hours a week
  • Cannot work before 6am or after 7pm – except that on nights preceding non-school days when they can work until 9pm.
  • Cannot perform certain types of duties.

Children who are 16 years old:

  • May not work more than 10 consecutive hours in a day or more than 10 hours in a 24 hour period.
  • May not work more than 6 days a week or 54 hours a week
  • Cannot work before 6am or after 11pm – except on nights preceding non-school days.
  • Do not need a work permit to be employed, however, there are federal laws that limit the types of work they can do.

Save on Arkansas Workplace Posters

The Notice to Employer & Employee posting is required for employers with four or more employees. It’s available as part of the GovDocs Arkansas Posting Package, which also includes other postings required for employers with locations in Arkansas. Subscribers to the GovDocs blog can use coupon code BLOG20 to save 20% on the Arkansas Posting Package.