$11.52 per hour in 2016 for Richmond, California minimum wage workers. Revised posting required.
Beginning January 1, 2016, employers in Richmond, California will need to give their minimum wage workers a pay boost. The new rate of $11.52 per hour represents a 16 percent increase over the previous rate – and it’s not done increasing.
The Richmond Minimum Wage Ordinance establishes a $13.00 per hour minimum wage for 2018 with the rate being adjusted for inflation beginning 2019, subject to changes in the Consumer Price Index (CPI). The City would announce any increases to the rate by October 1 each year.
If an employer pays at least $1.50 per hour towards an employee’s medical benefits plan, then the employer can deduct the $1.50 from the minimum wage amount.
Richmond California Minimum Wage Posting Requirements
The revised Richmond Minimum Wage Notice is required to be displayed January 1, 2016 “in a conspicuous place at any workplace or job site where any Employee works”.
Additionally, if at least 5 percent of workers in a Richmond business speak any language other than English, then the employer should display the minimum wage notice in that language. The City of Richmond provides versions in Spanish, Chinese, and Laotian.
Cover Your Gap with GovDocs City Posting Coverage
Let’s face it: more and more cities are creating their own minimum wage and paid sick leave ordinances. When you are managing posting compliance for hundreds (or thousands) of locations across the country, your job isn’t getting easier.
If you miss one (or three, or six) you have a significant compliance gap.
GovDocs provides ongoing compliance for North America’s largest employers – and we cover the most cities in the industry so you don’t have to worry about compliance gaps.
When you’re ready for complete posting compliance that makes your day a little easier, and covers your compliance gap, let us know!
Contact GovDocs for a Price Quote for 2016 Labor Law Posting Compliance
Sacramento among growing list of U.S. cities moving toward indexed minimum wages.
The Sacramento City Council adopted an ordinance to establish a citywide minimum wage of $10.50 in 2017 with incremental increases to $12.50 per hour by 2020. Thereafter, the City would adjust the rate for inflation annually based on inflation levels indicated by the Consumer Price Index (CPI).
The ordinance covers all businesses within the city limits of Sacramento; however, businesses with fewer than 40 employees can delay implementation for six months.
Sacramento Minimum Wage Schedule
Sacramento’s minimum wage will reach $12.50 per hour by 2020 and allows a six-month “small business delay” for employers with fewer than 40 employees. The rate increases in the following stages.
101 or more employees
- January 1, 2017: $10.50
- January 1, 2018: $11.00
- January 1, 2019: $11.75
- January 1, 2020: $12.50
- January 1, 2021: Indexed to CPI
100 or fewer employees
- July 1, 2017: $10.50
- July 1, 2018: $11.00
- July 1, 2019: $11.75
- July 1, 2020: $12.50
- July 1, 2021: Indexed to CPI
Exemptions to Sacramento Minimum Wage
Workers in the following classifications are exempted from the Sacramento minimum wage are eligible rates determined under California or Federal minimum wage requirements.
- Workers 17 years old or younger
- Workers with developmental disabilities
Sacramento Minimum Wage Posting Requirements
Sacramento will release a required minimum wage posting, most likely late 2016 to satisfy the posting requirements detailed in the new ordinance:
By December 1st of each year, the City shall publish and make available to employers a
notice announcing the minimum wage rates for the upcoming year. Employers shall post the notice in a conspicuous place in each workplace that is visible to all of their employees.
The new Sacramento minimum wage ordinance doesn’t take effect until January 1, 2017, so no need to rush out and order posters just yet. Depending on how the City designs the initial posting, businesses may have to update the Sacramento minimum wage notice each year.
GovDocs City Posting Coverage
The trend nationally is for more cities and counties to implement minimum wage and paid sick leave ordinances that also require businesses to display workplace notices. For large companies with locations across the country, this adds a layer of complexity for posting compliance managers.
Fortunately, locations in Sacramento covered under the GovDocs Update Program will automatically receive the required posting before the January 1, 2017 effective date.
GovDocs currently monitors more than 80 cities in the U.S. based on population and whether they have ordinances requiring postings. Our city posting coverage helps GovDocs live up to our promise to help North America’s largest employers eliminate barriers to total posting compliance.
If you have 50 or more locations and are ready to simplify posting coverage, please contact us!
San Francisco employers must pay workers at least $12.25 per hour beginning May 1, 2015.[wc_divider style=”dotted” line=”single” margin_top=”” margin_bottom=””]
Voters passed Proposition J in November 2014, raising the minimum wage to $15.00 by 2018 in scheduled increases. Beginning in 2019, the San Francisco minimum wage rate will be adjusted annually based on changes to the Consumer Price Index (CPI).
San Francisco Minimum Wage Increase Schedule
The San Francisco minimum wage will increase according to the following schedule:
|Effective Date||Minimum Wage Rate|
|July 1 2019 and beyond||CPI Increase|
San Francisco Minimum Wage Notice and Posting Requirements
The San Francisco Minimum Wage Ordinance (MWO) requires every employer to post notices in English, Spanish, Chinese and:
“…in and any other language spoken by at least five percent of the Employees at the workplace or job site.”
Employers must also provide each employee the employer’s name, address and telephone number in writing at the time of hire.
San Francisco Compliance Posters
Subscribers to GovDocs labor law news can take an additional 20% off of their purchase of the GovDocs San Francisco City Posting Compliance Package by using coupon code BLOG20. The package contains the new San Francisco 2015 Minimum Wage posting and other postings required for San Francisco employers:
- San Francisco Minimum Wage (6-Language version)
- San Francisco Paid Sick Leave (6-Language version)
- San Francisco No Smoking
- San Francisco Health Care Security Ordinance (6-Language version)
- San Francisco Family Friendly Workplace (6-Language version)
- San Francisco Fair Chance Ordinance posting
- San Francisco Employment Discrimination is Against the Law
GovDocs City Posting Coverage
San Francisco is just one of more than 40 cities in the U.S. that issues postings required or recommended for employers. Thanks to the nationwide trend of tying minimum wage rates to cost-of-living adjustments (like in San Francisco beginning 2019), more and more workplace postings require frequent replacement.
For large employers (businesses with 50 or more locations), GovDocs suggests using an automatic compliance program to ensure uninterrupted posting coverage for all your employees. Request a price quote from GovDocs today.[wc_divider style=”dashed” line=”single” margin_top=”” margin_bottom=””]
Albuquerque increased its 2015 minimum wage rate to $8.75 effective January 1, 2015.[wc_divider style=”dotted” line=”single” margin_top=”” margin_bottom=””]
The City launched its Albuquerque Minimum Wage Ordinance in 2007 and indexes the minimum wage rate to the Consumer Price Index (CPI) each year to compensate for the cost of living. The 2014 CPI report identified a 1.6 percent increase in the cost of living for Albuquerque resulting in a 15-cent increase from $8.60 to $8.75 for the Albuquerque regular minimum wage.
The regular minimum wage rate covers employees who do not receive at least $2,500 in healthcare or childcare benefits. For workers who receive more than $2,500 in benefits, the 2015 minimum wage rate increased only to $7.75.
Albuquerque Tipped Minimum Wage
Employers must pay Albuquerque minimum wage workers who earn tips as part of their regular duties at least $5.25 per hour.
Albuquerque Minimum Wage Poster
Every employer must display both English and Spanish versions of the Albuquerque Minimum Wage Poster in a conspicuous location.
Albuquerque is one of more than 50 cities in the U.S. that GovDocs monitors for mandatory workplace posting updates. The 2015 Albuquerque minimum wage posting is included as part of the GovDocs Albuquerque City Posting Compliance Package in English and Spanish versions. Order now and save 20% on all 2015 labor law poster purchases with GovDocs coupon code 2015MIN.[wc_divider style=”dotted” line=”single” margin_top=”” margin_bottom=””]
The Missouri Department of Labor increased the 2015 Missouri minimum wage to $7.65 per hour. The new rate, which is a two percent increase over the 2014 rate, goes into effect January 1, 2015 for Missouri minimum-wage workers.[wc_divider style=”dotted” line=”single” margin_top=”” margin_bottom=””]
Missouri is among the 10 states in the U.S. whose minimum wage rate is tied to rates of inflation. Using the Consumer Price Index (CPI). Therefore, each year, the state minimum wage rate can be automatically adjusted up or down based on the latest CPI numbers from the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS).
Missouri Tipped Employees
Compensation for tipped employees must total at least $7.65 per hour, and employers of tipped workers are required to pay tipped employees at least 50 percent of the minimum wage, which is equal to $3.825 per hour.
Employers engaged in retail or service businesses whose annual gross income is less than $500,000 are not required to pay the state minimum wage rate. Employers not subject to the minimum wage law can pay employees wages of their choosing.
Missouri Home Care Workers
Missouri home care attendants belonging to the Missouri Consumer-Directed Services Program may soon see big pay increases if a new contract is approved. Under the agreement, consumers in the consumer-directed services program would have the right to choose what their attendant earns in a range from $8.50 an hour to $10.15 an hour. The agreement must now be ratified by the Missouri Quality Home Care Council and by the members of the Missouri Home Care Union.
Missouri Required Workplace Postings
The revised Missouri Minimum Wage posting is part of the GovDocs Missouri Posting Compliance Package, along with other postings required for Missouri workplaces.
- Workers’ Compensation
- Unemployment Insurance
- Discrimination in Employment
- Discrimination in Public Accommodation
- Youth Employment List
- Minimum Wage
The Industrial Commission of Arizona (ICA) announced an increase of Arizona’s minimum wage to $8.05 per hour effective January 1, 2015. The $0.15 raise is a 1.9 percent increase over the 2014 rate of $7.90 per hour affecting more than 24,000 Arizona minimum wage workers.
The ICA administers and enforces the State’s minimum wage
Arizona Tipped Workers Minimum Wage
Employees who are tipped earn a base rate of $5.05 per hour thanks to a $3 tip credit.
Tipped workers include people who customarily receives tips, typically in the restaurant, hospitality, and personal services industries:
- Food servers
- Bellhops / Valets
- Car wash attendants
- Hairdressers / Barbers
Arizona Annual Minimum Wage Calculation
Arizona’s minimum wage can be adjusted annually based on increases in the cost of living based on the Consumer Price Index (CPI). Any adjustments to the Arizona minimum wage are rounded to the nearest nickel (five-cent increments).
Arizona is one of 10 states in the U.S. that indexes the minimum wage to adjust to the cost of living:
History of Arizona Minimum Wage
The State enacted the Arizona Minimum Wage Act (Proposition 202) in 2006 after a successful ballot measure. The table below shows Arizona’s minimum wage rates since 2006 and the percentage of increase for each year, if any.
|Year||Minimum Wage||% Change|
Arizona Minimum Wage Poster
Arizona employers are required to display the most current Arizona Minimum Wage Poster, which is included as part of GovDocs’ Arizona Workplace Poster Packages, along with other required postings:
- Unemployment Compensation
- Workers’ Compensation Insurance (Memo)
- Employee Safety & Health Protection
- Prohibition of Discrimination
- Work Exposure to Bodily Fluids
- Constructive Discharge
- Minimum Wage
- No Smoking Poster
- Right to Work
- Work Exposure to MRSA, Spinal Meningitis, or TB
The Ohio Department of Commerce announced the State’s 2015 minimum wage rate of $8.10 for non-tipped workers, which is effective January 1, 2015.
Ohio’s 2015 minimum wage gives low-wage earners an hourly boost of 15 cents over the 2014 rate of $7.95.
What is the Minimum Wage for Non-Tipped Workers in Ohio?
Ohio’s minimum wage rate for tipped employees increased to $4.05 per hour.
Which Employers are Required to Pay the Minimum Wage?
Ohio employers with annual gross receipts of more than $297,000 per year are required to pay employees at least the minimum wage.
Why Does the Ohio Minimum Wage Change So Often?
The Ohio minimum wage is adjusted annually to reflect fluctuations in the Consumer Price Index (CPI).
The 2015 minimum wage rate represents an 18 percent increase over the 2007 rate after voters amended the State Constitution (Issue 2) to index the minimum wage, meaning that if inflation increases, the rate will adjust to help offset the effect on low-wage workers.
Ohio minimum-wage workers have received an average increase of 16 cents each year in the past eight years to compensate for the rate of inflation.
Ohio Minimum Wage Poster
GovDocs provides the Ohio Minimum Wage posting and other posting required for Ohio workplaces as part of the GovDocs Ohio Workplace Poster Packages, which includes:
- Unemployment Insurance
- Minimum Wage
- Minor Labor Law
- Ohio Fair Employment Practices Law
- Rebuttable Presumption Law
- No Smoking