Posts

Hawaii Unemployment Insurance, Revised Posting

The Hawaii State Department of Labor & Industrial Relations (DLIR) released a revised version of the Hawaii Unemployment Insurance Law posting, which is required for most employers who hire one or more individuals and/or who do business in Hawaii. (See Coverage Exclusions here.)


What Changed on the Hawaii Unemployment Posting?

Hawaii’s Unemployment Insurance Law posting revisions reflect administrative streamlining, including a reduction in “person-to-person” operations.

  • Effective October 1, 2014, Hawaii’s telephone claim filing will no longer be available.
  • The online claim-filing system (HUI) requires users to have valid email addresses.
  • Hawaii added a direct deposit requirement for unemployment insurance benefits. Eligible recipients must provide bank account information to receive payments.
  • The DLIR closed its Kaneohe Unemployment Insurance and Workforce Development office, and that claims officer contact information was removed from the revised posting.

Fortunately fewer people will need to file new claims. Hawaii’s unemployment rate for September 2014 was 4.2 percent compared to the nationwide average of 5.9 percent.

Hawaii Unemployment Insurance Poster

The Hawaii Unemployment Insurance Law posting is available as part of the GovDocs Hawaii Poster Compliance Package with other postings required for employers in Hawaii.

  • Unemployment Insurance Law
  • Disability Compensation Law
  • Wage & Hour Laws
  • Occupational Safety & Health Laws
  • Whistleblower Protection Law
  • Laws Prohibiting Employment Discrimination
  • Required Notice to Dislocated Workers/Plant Closings
  • Smoking Prohibited by Law
  • Breastfeeding in the Workplace


[gravityform id=”2″ name=”Stay Informed of Labor Law News from GovDocs”]

Hawaii Releases Revised Minimum Wage Posting

Hawaii released the revised Wage and Hour Laws notice required for all Hawaii employers. The posting reflects the Bill (SB 2609) that Governor Neil Abercrombie signed into law increasing the minimum wage rate in phases to $10.10 by 2018. The final measure also increases the tip credit to 50 cents per hour beginning January 1, 2015, and 75 cents per hour beginning on January 1, 2016.

Hawaii Minimum Wage Increase in Phases (January 1 of each year)

  • 2015: $7.75
  • 2016: $8.50
  • 2017: $9.25
  • 2018: $10.10

Hawaii’s minimum wage had stagnated at $7.25 per hour since 2007. At that level, Hawaii’s minimum wage workers who work full time would earn $15,080 per year. Raising the minimum wage to $10.10 will give minimum wage workers a $6,000 per year income boost.

Required Posters for Hawaii Workplaces

The revised Hawaii minimum wage notice is included on the GovDocs Hawaii State-on-One poster, Hawaii Combined poster, and in PDF format – along with other postings required for employers in Hawaii. See Required Hawaii Workplace Postings Here.

And if you’ve ever fantasized about moving to Hawaii, could you survive there on the new minimum wage rate? Check out our post on whether you could survive in Hawaii on the new minimum wage rate (or just live on a beach).

 


[gravityform id=”2″ name=”Stay Informed of Labor Law News from GovDocs” description=”false”]

Is Hawaii’s New Minimum Wage Enough to Make Ends Meet in Paradise?

Can You Live in Hawaii on the New Minimum Wage Rate?

If you’ve ever visited Hawaii, you probably caught a case of Mahalo Fever and started planning a move to the islands as you lounged in a hammock on the beach sipping Mai Tais. But what would you need to earn to pay rent and groceries?

Honolulu has the highest cost of goods and services across all U.S. cities, and Hawaii comes in second only to Washington D.C. for Regional Price Parities as determined by the U.S. Bureau of Economic Analysis. Although there is a 4.4 percent unemployment rate in Hawaii, 17.3 per cent of Hawaii’s population lives in poverty.

For a family of four (two adults, two children) to put food on the table (store bought, no eating out) and to live in a decent two-bedroom apartment (about $2,000 per month), each adult earning minimum wage would need to work full-time and some overtime each week, but that’s without making a car payment or driving anywhere at $4.36 per gallon. The cost also does not include cell phones for you and the kids, and it definitely does not include $14 Mai Tais.

Can you do it? Yes, it’s possible. Heck, it’s not easy living on minimum-wage income no matter where you live. At least in Hawaii you’d see paradise on your way to your job.

Can I Live on the Beach in Hawaii?

Hawaii has 750 miles of shoreline and more than 400 beaches, so it makes sense that you might want to check into “Hotel Sandcastle” for an uninterrupted snooze on the sand. But be warned: although all beaches in Hawaii are legally public beaches, local law enforcement may chuck out nuisance beach bums, sometimes at the behest of the landowners lurking behind the vegetation line. Check out this thread full of unverified opinions on the matter.

Sit/Stand ordinances are also making it more difficult for the homeless in Hawaii to panhandle or lie down on public benches.

And for what it’s worth, Minnesota has more than 90,000 miles of shoreline – the most of any U.S. state. Just bring some wool socks to wear with those flip flops during a winter on Leech Lake.

Aloha!


Want to Keep Informed of Labor Law News?

[gravityform id=”2″ name=”Labor Law News” title=”false” description=”false”]

New Breastfeeding in the Workplace Law for Hawaii

Hawaii Employers: Are you still compliant with the new labor laws?

Hawaii recently passed an amendment to the Employment Practices Law pertaining to workplace accommodation for breastfeeding.

Under this legislation, employers are required to provide reasonable time for breastfeeding employees as needed for up to one year after childbirth. Employers are also mandated to provide the employee with a private location (other than a restroom) that is shielded from view and free from intrusion from coworkers and the public for breastfeeding purposes.

Employers with fewer than 20 employees are exempt if that employer can show that the law would impose a significant expense or difficulty to their business.

A mandatory Breastfeeding in the Workplace poster is included with this law to explain the changes and notify employees.

Failure to comply with posting or enforcing the law results in a minimum $500 fine for each violation.

Hawaii’s state law takes precedence over the national Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) as it offers greater protection to employees. You can read more about the FLSA here.

GovDocs offers this new Breastfeeding in the Workplace posting as part of our Hawaii All-On-One poster. To make sure you never miss out on mandatory state or federal labor law changes, join our Update Program and stay compliant!

For more information about the Hawaii Breastfeeding in the Workplace Act, Click here.