Trenton NJ Paid Sick Time Going Live

Legal challenge to Trenton’s Paid Sick Leave Ordinance tossed out of court. Employers will need to allow workers to accrue sick pay beginning July 3, 2015.

[wc_divider style=”dotted” line=”single” margin_top=”” margin_bottom=””]

The New Jersey Business and Industry Association challenged the City of Trenton’s new Paid Sick Leave ordinance, but a Mercer County Superior Court judge granted the City’s motion to dismiss. The ordinance was enacted March 4, 2015 and takes effect 120 days later.

Trenton Paid Sick Time Accrual Rate and Cap

Beginning the first day of employment, all employees in Trenton are eligible to accrue a minimum of one hour of paid sick time for every 30 hours worked. They can access accrued paid sick time beginning the ninetieth calendar day of employment.

The annual accrual cap for paid sick leave depends on the number of workers employed. Employers with ten or more workers must provide at least 40 hours of paid sick time in a calendar year.

The cap for employers none or fewer is at least 24 hours of paid sick time in a calendar year except in the cases of child care workers, home health care workers, and food service workers: for these workers, employers are required to provide up to 40 hours of paid sick time regardless of the number of workers employed.

Workers can carry over accrued paid sick time from one calendar year to the next, subject to the accrual rate caps mentioned above.

[wc_box color=”danger” text_align=”center”]

Check out the New Jersey City Paid Sick Leave Cheat Sheet HERE

[/wc_box]

Trenton Paid Sick Time Notice and Posting Requirements

Employers need to provide written notice to each employee at the time of hiring going forward and to all existing employees as of the effective date of the ordinance. Additionally, employers in Trenton are required to display the notice in a conspicuous location in English and in any other language “that is the first language of at least 10% of the Employer’s workforce”.

The new Trenton Paid Sick Time notice is part of the GovDocs Trenton City Posting Compliance Package subscribers to GovDocs Labor Law News can take an additional 20% off their purchases of required State, Federal, and City postings in the GovDocs poster store. Use coupon code BLOG20 at check out.

[wc_divider style=”dashed” line=”single” margin_top=”” margin_bottom=””] [wc_divider style=”solid” line=”single” margin_top=”” margin_bottom=””] [gravityform id=”2″ title=”true” description=”false”]

 

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply