Minnesota’s planned minimum wage increase takes effect August 1, 2016 with the rate dependent on business revenue.
- Large employer (annual gross dollar volume of sales of $500,000 or more): $9.50 per hour
- Small employer (annual gross dollar volume of sales less than $500,000): $7.75 per hour
Beginning January 1, 2018, the rate will be adjusted annually based on changes to the cost of living, but any increases would be capped at 2.5 percent above the previous rate.
Minnesota’s minimum wage rate began increasing in stages August 2014.
Minnesota Workplace Posters Required for Employers
The revised Minnesota Minimum Wage posting is required for all employers in Minnesota to display. The revised posting includes the minimum wage rates that are valid from August 1, 2016 – July 31, 2017.
In addition to the Minnesota Minimum Wage poster, employers in the state must also display a variety of other postings to remain compliant with Minnesota workplace regulations, including:
- Workers’ Compensation
- Unemployment Insurance
- Minimum Wage
- Safety & Health Protection on the Job
- Age Discrimination
Subscribers to GovDocs Labor Law News can take an additional 30% off the GovDocs Minnesota Posting Compliance Package, which contains all workplace postings required for Minnesota businesses. Simply use the 30% coupon code MNMIN at check out on the GovDocs labor law poster store.