The Michigan Occupational Safety and Health Administration (MIOSHA) announced the 2016 minimum wage rate increase to $8.50 per hour effective January 1, 2016. The new rate reflects a four percent increase over the previous rate of $8.15 per hour.
As part of Michigan’s Workforce Opportunity Wage Act (408.414), the state has been increasing the minimum wage rate in stages since September 1, 2014. The rate will reach $9.25 per hour by January 1, 2018, and thereafter the rate will be tied to the rate of inflation as determined by changes to the Consumer Price Index (CPI).
Michigan Minimum Wage Schedule
§ Before Sept 1, 2014.
¨ Sept. 1, 2014 – Dec. 31, 2015.
Michigan Minimum Wage Posting Requirements
There are two great ways to maintain compliance with Michigan’s minimum wage posting requirements: the Act or the Poster.
According to the Workforce Opportunity Wage Act (408.417):
“An employer subject to this act or any regulation or order issued under this act shall keep a copy of this act and regulations and orders promulgated under this act posted in a conspicuous place in the workplace that is accessible to employees.”
However, Michigan Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs (LARA) states that employers who display the required poster Michigan General Requirements – Minimum Wage and Overtime are compliant with the posting requirements.
New Year, New Posters, Right?
Do you need to replace labor law posters every year?