On Nov. 6, 2018, Arkansas voters passed Issue 5 to increase the state minimum wage over the next three years. Currently, the Arkansas minimum wage is $8.50, and will increase yearly starting Jan. 1, 2019:
- 12019: $9.25
- 2020: $10
- 2021: $11
All employers with four or more employees in Arkansas are required to abide by the law. However, the law does not affect Arkansas’s tip credit requirements.
See early 2020 state minimum wage increases
Issue 5 was added to the Nov. 2018 ballot when sponsors of the bill collected signatures from over 60,000 voters.
Related update: A city in Arkansas is working on paying panhandlers and the homeless minimum wage for work.
Background on Arkansas Minimum Wage
A state minimum wage was put on the Arkansas ballot for the first time in 2014. This was also the last time Arkansas voted on the state minimum wage until this Nov. 2018. Voters in 2014 passed the minimum wage law proposed and increased the state’s rate by $2.25 over three years:
- 2014: $6.25
- 2015: $7.50
- 2016: $8.00
- 2017: $8.50
Missouri voters passed a new minimum wage law on their Nov. 2018 ballot as well. The new rate will increase to $12 by 2023.