New 2016 minimum wage rate and a 2017 increase in the wings for Massachusetts.
When it comes to the Commonwealth’s minimum wage, those legislators in Massachusetts don’t mess around. The Massachusetts Minimum Fair Wages Statute says that, as of January 1, 2016, a wage lower than $10 per hour for workers covered by the minimum wage shall conclusively be presumed to be oppressive and unreasonable.
The Statute also has an $11 per hour minimum wage rate schedule for 2017, so we’ll be doing this next year.
Wait staff, service employees and service bartenders in Massachusetts may be paid a service rate of $3.35 per hour if they regularly receive tips of more than $20 a month.
In addition to updating the minimum wage rate, the Commonwealth also made other changes to the posting:
- Added an Earned Sick Time section
- Added a Non-Discrimination section
- Added an Equal Pay section
- Expanded the No Retaliation section
Massachusetts Minimum Wage Posting Requirements
Massachusetts workplaces must display the latest minimum wage posting “in a conspicuous place in every room in which persons are employed” according to Section 16 of the Minimum Fair Wages Statute.