Effective April 1, 2016, California workplaces will need to display a revised version of the Your Rights and Obligations as a Pregnant Employee notice.
What Changed on the California Pregnant Employee Notice?
In addition to minor verbiage changes, the California Department of Fair Employment and Housing (DFEH) revised the notice to include a “reasonable notice” clause so that workers can give their employers at least 30 days’ notice for foreseeable events.
A new section explains additional unpaid leave rights under the California Family Rights Act (CFRA). The CFRA applies to employees with more than a year of service and works at least 1,250 hours per year.
California Pregnant Employee Posting and Notice Requirements
The posting and notice requirements cover all California workplaces. Previously, the requirements covered only businesses with 50 or more employees.
The Your Rights and Obligations as a Pregnant Employee notice should be posted in a conspicuous place where employees tend to congregate.
Employers who have employee handbooks are required to include information about pregnancy leave rights in their handbooks.
Employers subject to the CFRA may include both pregnancy disability leave and CFRA leave requirements in a single notice.