Oregon Increases Minimum Wage for Agricultural Workers

Minimum-wage earners employed in the agricultural sector in Oregon received a fifteen cent raise as of January 1, 2014. Oregon’s agricultural employers are now required to pay at least $9.10 per hour.

Oregon’s Bureau of Labor and Industries released the revised Your Rights Under Oregon’s Minimum Wage Law and Child Labor Law Notice posting, which is effective January 1, 2014.

In addition to other required postings by the State, agricultural employers in Oregon are required to display the following postings specific to agriculture:

  • Your Rights Under Oregon’s Minimum Wage Law and Child Labor Law Notice
  • Migrant & Seasonal Agricultural Worker Protection Act Poster
  • Field Sanitation Notice
  • “Protect yourself from pesticides” Poster
  • BOLI Notice to Agricultural Employees



Stay Updated with Recent Labor Law Posting Changes

[gravityform id=”2″ name=”Labor Law News”]

Connecticut Minimum Wage Rate

Connecticut has released its Minimum Wage and Overtime posting as of January 6 to reflect the increased minimum wage rate of $8.70 per hour. The posting is required for all employers employers with locations in Connecticut and must be displayed by February 6, 2014, which is 30 days of the posting release.

For information about the Connecticut raising its minimum wage rate to $10.10 in 2017, click here.

The GovDocs Connecticut State-on-One poster contains the new Wage & Workplace Administrative Regulations posting and other postings required for employers with locations in Connecticut.


Like to stay informed of labor law posting news?
[gravityform id=”2″ name=”Labor Law News”]

Oregon Workplace Protections for Victims of Domestic Violence and Sexual Assault

Effective January 1, 2014, employers in Oregon with six or more employees must post the newly released Domestic Violence, Harassment, Sexual Assault and Stalking (DVHSAS) posting.

The new Domestic Violence, Harassment, Sexual Assault and Stalking posting is included on GovDocs’ Oregon State-on-One poster.

About the Oregon DVHAS Law

Oregon’s Domestic Violence, Sexual Assault, Stalking, Harassment Victims in the Workplace law protects employees who are victims of domestic violence, sexual assault, stalking or criminal harassment. The law prohibits employers from discriminating against covered employees based on their status as a victim. Employers also must provide reasonable safety accommodation in the workplace. Additionally, employers must allow eligible employees time off for:

  • Legal or law enforcement assistance
  • Ensuring the health and safety of the employee or the employee’s minor child or dependent
  • Medical treatment for or recovery from injuries caused by domestic violence, harassment, or sexual assault
  • Counseling
  • Services from a victim services provider for the employee or employee’s minor child or dependent.


Colorado Releases 2014 Minimum Wage Poster

The Colorado Division of Labor has released the 2014 Colorado Minimum Wage Order 30 Posting after adopting Minimum Wage Order Number 30 to reflect the new state minimum wage of $8.00 per hour effective January 1, 2014.  Colorado adjusts its minimum wage annually for inflation.

Minimum Wage Order Number 30 regulates wages and hours for work performed within the following industries:

  • Retail and Service
  • Food and Beverage
  • Commercial Support Service
  • Health and Medical

If an employee is covered by federal and Colorado state minimum wage laws, then the employer must pay the higher minimum wage. The current Federal minimum wage is lower than the Colorado state minimum wage; therefore, covered employers in Colorado must pay the new state rate of $8.00 beginning January 1, 2014.

About the Posting

Every employer subject to this wage order must display a wage order poster in an area frequented by employees where it may be easily read during the work day.

The Colorado Minimum Wage Order 30 Poster is included on the GovDocs Colorado State-on-One poster with other required postings for Colorado employees, including:

  • Unemployment Insurance
  • Workers’ Compensation
  • State of Colorado – Anti–Discrimination
  • Notice of Injury
  • Pay Day Notice

 

New Jersey Releases Gender Equity Posting

The long anticipated Right to be Free of Gender Inequity, mandatory to post for New Jersey employers with 50 or more employees, is finally available.

Although the State announced the change in 2012, the posting and its requirements went through an arduous notification and public comment phase prior to final release by the Commissioner of Labor and Work force Development.

The notice informs employees of their “right to be free from gender inequity or bias in pay, compensation, benefits or other terms or conditions of employment” under New Jersey’s Law Against Discrimination (NJLAD).

New Jersey employers with 50 or more employees must provide each worker a written copy of the notification:

  • Within 30 days after the form of notification is issued by the Commissioner.
  • At the time of the worker’s hiring.
  • Annually, on or before December 31 of each year.
  • Any time first requested by an employee.

The Right to be Free of Gender Inequity posting is included on GovDocs’ New Jersey State-on-One poster.

Military Veterans Protected From Workplace Discrimination in California

With more than one-quarter of all homeless veterans living in the state, California has the highest number of homeless veterans in the U.S.

As part of a wave of new legislation signed by Governor Brown to help veterans, particularly homeless veterans, a change to the California Law Prohibits Workplace Discrimination posting adds “military and veteran status” to the list of classes protected from discrimination in employment and housing under California’s Fair Employment and Housing Act.

This change is reflected on the revised posting and is mandatory for employers in California to display. GovDocs’ updated California State-On-One poster includes the revised California Law Prohibits Workplace Discrimination posting and others required for California businesses.

Mandatory Labor Law Posting Changes in the U.S. in 2013

Need to know if your employment locations were affected by mandatory labor law posting changes in 2013? Here’s the list as of December 10, 2013.

The states noted in red on the map experienced mandatory labor law posting changes for all or most employers in 2013, meaning that employers should replace postings at locations within those states. Below is a break-out of the specific postings that changed.

STATE POSTING TYPE OF CHANGE
AK Notice of Workers’ Compensation Insurance Update
AZ Minimum Wage Update
CA California Law Prohibits Workplace Discrimination Update
CO Colorado Minimum Wage Order 30 Update
FL Minimum Wage Update
GA Bill of Rights for the Injured Worker Update
HI Breastfeeding in the Workplace New Posting
KS Workers’ Compensation Update
KY Unemployment Insurance Benefits Update
MA Unemployment Insurance Update
MA Fair Employment Law Update
MD Pregnant & Working New Posting
ME Workers’ Compensation Update
MN Minimum Wage Update
MO Minimum Wage Update
NC Unemployment Insurance Update
ND Wage & Hour Laws Update
NJ New Jersey State Wage and Hour Law Abstract Update
NJ SAFE Act New Posting
NM Notice of Accident New Posting
NY Minimum Wage Information Update
OH Minimum Wage Update
OK Oklahoma Law Prohibits Discrimination in Employment Update
OR Domestic Violence, Harassment, Sexual Assault or Stalking New Posting
OR Oregon Family Leave Act Update
OR Minimum Wage Update
RI Notice to All Employees (UI & DI) Update
RI State Minimum Wage Update
TN Unemployment Insurance Update
TX Employer Notification – Ombudsman Program Update
VT Minimum Wage Update
VT Unemployment Insurance Information Update
WV Wage Payment and Collection Update


Note: the Federal Family and Medical Leave Act also changed and is required for employers with 50 or more employees. Additionally, some states changed/added industry-specific postings, and several cities revised postings.

Please subscribe to our alert service below to stay up to date with all ongoing changes.

Keep Up to Date With Labor Law Posting News

Sign up now to receive alerts about changes that affect your locations.

[rs-box_content style=”basic_block” txt_color=”#333333″ bkg_color=”#f5f5f5″ brd_color=”#ccc”] [gravityform id=”20″ name=”U.S. Labor Law Alerts”] [/rs-box_content]
[rs-space space=”20″/]
Looking for the earliest compliance dates for your GovDocs posters? Check out our Recent Changes page.
[rs-single_button_group size=”btn-medium” type=”btn-warning” class=”” new_win=”no” position=”left” wrap=”no”] [rs-single_button label=”Check GovDocs Poster Compliance Dates” link=”http://www.laborlawposter.com/site/recentchanges.html”/] [/rs-single_button_group]

Saving Lives in the Workplace

What would happen if there were a medical emergency in your workplace?  If someone needed the Heimlich maneuver or CPR, would your employees know what to do? These emergency procedures, and the people who know how to perform them correctly, have dramatically decreased the number of deaths due to choking and cardiac arrest in the United States.

Choking Emergencies

Accidentally choking on food or other substances has become the fifth major cause of death in the United States – with over 4,000 victims a year.  The Heimlich maneuver is the most effective technique for saving choking victims’ lives. It is highly recommended that restaurants display a step-by-step guide for choking emergencies. You can order the American Red Cross-approved Heimlich maneuver poster here.

Several states require food service establishments to display a choking poster, listed here:

State

Poster Requirement

Arkansas Food service establishments are required to display a choking poster
Connecticut Food service establishments are required to display a choking poster
Florida Food service establishments are required to display the official Heimlich Maneuver choking poster
Georgia Food service establishments are required to display a choking poster
Illinois Food service establishments are required to display the official   Illinois choking poster
Kentucky Food service establishments are required to display a choking poster
Maryland Food service establishments are required to display a choking poster
Michigan Food service establishments are required to display a choking poster
New Jersey Food service establishments are required to display a choking poster
New York Food service establishments are required to display a choking poster
Oregon Food service establishments are required to display a choking poster
Texas Food service establishments are required to display the official Texas Choking Poster

Sudden Cardiac Arrest

Approximately 900 Americans die every day due to sudden cardiac arrest. Effective bystander CPR provided immediately after cardiac arrest can double a victim’s chance of survival. In fact, about 92,000 people are saved by CPR in the United States each year.

The American Heart Association confirms that “Death from sudden cardiac arrest is not inevitable. If more people knew CPR, more lives could be saved.” Save lives by ordering these American Red Cross clear emergency instructions and display them in your workplace.

Lifesaving Poster Package

To ensure that your workplace is ready for medical emergencies, you should display both the Lifesaving CPR Steps poster and the Steps for Choking Emergencies poster. GovDocs offers these posters together in the Lifesaving Poster Package. Order this package now and make sure your workplace is prepared.

 

California Grows the “Family” Part of “Paid Family Leave” Program

As part of its Paid Family Leave (PFL) insurance program, California has expanded its definition of family members to include:

  • Grandparent
  • Grandchildren
  • Siblings
  • Parents-in-law

Employees eligible for the paid caregiver leave receive partial pay for up to up to six weeks as part of the program when caring for relatives suffering from serious illness or for bonding with newborn or newly adopted children.

PFL insurance is paid for with deductions from employees’ paychecks through contributions to a special fund in the State Treasury appropriated for providing benefits payments.

The State delayed implementation of the expanded definition until July 1, 2014.

California’s Notice to Employees posting is required for all employers with locations in California. The posting advises employees of potential unemployment insurance, disability insurance and paid family leave insurance benefits. The posting is included on the GovDocs California State-on-One poster, which includes all state postings considered required for all employers.

California Paid Family Leave Employee Eligibility

Employees are eligible for California’s Paid Family Leave (PFL) insurance if they meet the following requirements:

  • Covered by State Disability Insurance (SDI).
  • A Voluntary Plan Insurer provides employee’s company disability insurance.
  • Employee is unable to do regular or customary work for at least eight days due to the need to provide care for a seriously ill family member, spouse, or registered domestic partner; or to bond with a new child.
  • Employee must be employed or actively looking for work at the time your family leave begins.
  • Employee must have earned at least $300 from which SDI deductions were withheld during a previous period.


West Coast Minimum Wage Race

The green on the U.S. Department of Labor map represents states whose minimum wage rates exceed the federal minimum wage rate of $7.25. Nineteen U.S. states and the District of Columbia each have minimum wage rates that exceed the federal rate, and President Obama has recommended raising the federal minimum wage rate to $9 per hour.

Seattle to Top Nation’s Minimum Wage Rate?

Seattle Mayor, Michael McGinn, revealed that he supports a citywide minimum wage increase to $15 per hour if the measure is supported by the Seattle City Council. Seattle is currently subject to the State of Washington’s minimum wage rate of $9.19 per hour, which is the highest rate among states in the U.S. and went into effect January 1, 2013.

The State of Washington’s minimum wage will increase to $9.32 beginning January 1, 2014.

Oregon sets the minimum wage rate at $8.95 per hour, and California Governor Jerry Brown signed a bill to increase California’s minimum wage to $10 per hour within the next three years, up from the current $8 per hour.

[rs-box_wh_content title_txt_color=”#fff” body_bkg_color=”#fff” body_txt_color=”#424242″ custom_type=”foxtrot” h_top_clr=”#fff” h_bottom_clr=”#fff”] [rs-box_wh_content_title]

What is the highest minimum wage in America?

[/rs-box_wh_content_title]

Seatac, Washington holds the nation’s record wage rate currently at $15.00 per hour.

[/rs-box_wh_content]